2017-18 Rose Harrington Educators of the Year Named

2017-18 Rose Harrington Educators of the Year Named

LCUSD Superintendent, Wendy Sinnette with award recipients Lisa Fungo, and LCFEF Endowment Fund Trustee, Chad Heath. (Brian McDermott not pictured)


LCE 6th-grade teacher, Lisa Fungo and LCHS math teacher, Brian McDermott (not pictured) were named the 2017-18 Rose Harrington Educators of the Year on Wednesday, May 30th.

The Rose Harrington Educator of the Year Award, which comes with a cash prize, was established in 2002 by a bequest made in the estate of local resident Rose Harrington, who herself was an educator. The bequest is managed by the LCFEF Endowment Fund and this year’s selection was coordinated by a committee appointed by LCFEF Trustees, drawn from a pool of nominations that were made by the public at large.

According to Mrs. Harrington’s bequest, the intent of the award is to recognize educators whose contributions in the classroom often exceed expectations, consuming personal time and energy.

Previous winners include:

2017-18: Justin Eick and Samantha Wright
2015-16: Karen Gilmour and Justin Valassidis
2014-15: Dr. Jeff Brookey and Myrna McCune
2013-14: Laurie Hopkins and Sally Spangler
2012-13: Pam Daniger and Leslie Baldwin
2011-12: Patty Compeau
2010-11: Jan Rappleye
2009-10: Pat Harris
2008-09: Tom Traeger
2007-08: Mary Linda Vendevelde and Kathy Cockerill
2006-07: Marina Chahine
2005-06: Jackie Castro
2004-05: Mary Jane Hufstedler
2003-04: Mary Ruth Dicks

Invest in our future by giving today.