Educator Of The Year Awards

Rose Harrington of the Rose Harrington Educator of the Year Award
Rose Harrington

Has someone made an impact on you or your children? La Cañada Flintridge Educational Foundation’s Endowment Fund is seeking nominations of outstanding LCUSD educators.

2022-23 nominations are due by March 31st with winners being selected by an Endowment Trustee appointed committee. Anyone is eligible to submit a nomination – fellow-teachers, parents, administrators, and students (if they can independently complete the nomination form.)

The Rose Harrington Educator of the Year Award, which comes with a cash prize (last year it was over $7,000!), was established in 2002 by a bequest made in the estate of local resident Rose Harrington, who herself was an educator.

Please note, District administrators are NOT eligible for nomination. Questions can be directed to

Nominations of your favorite educator for the La Canada Flintridge Educational Foundation Rose Harrington Educator of the Year Award for this year

Enter the name of your school.
Please enter N/A if not applicable
Please enter the name of your nominee.
Please provide the name of the educator's school.

Past Award Winners

2021-22: Jason Stone and Julia Lee Hwang

2020-21: Paige Salardino and Karl Geckle

2019-20: Kathryn Wullschlager and Brandon Carroll

2018-19: Lucy Pelletier and Bill Lively

2017-18: Lisa Fungo and Brian McDermott

2016-17: Justin Eick and Samantha Wright

2015-16: Karen Gilmour and Justin Valassidis

2014-15: Jeff Brookey and Myrna McCune

2013-14: Laurie Hopkins and Sally Spangler

2012-13: Pam Daniger and Leslie Baldwin

2011-12: Patty Compeau

2010-11: Jan Rappleye

2009-10: Pat Harris

2008-09: Tom Traeger

2007-08: Mary Linda Vendevelde and Kathy Cockerill

2006-07: Marina Chahine

2005-06: Jackie Castro

2004-05: Mary Jane Hufstedler

2003-04: Mary Ruth Dicks